Connecticut
- The applying board stated in the sources
- Not a board of nursing. Licensing runs through the Connecticut Department of Public Health, in its Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section, which licenses registered nurses and licensed practical nurses through two parallel sets of pages with two different fee sets. The two levels are also given two different names for the same act: the registered-nurse index publishes "License by Endorsement of Out-of-State License" and the practical-nurse index publishes "Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License". The department names the team a reader should write to as the nurse licensing team, at dph.nursingteam@ct.gov. Registered Nurse Licensure; Practical Nurse Licensure.
- Compact status in these sources
- The department publishes its own statement and dates it. "Effective Oct. 1, 2025, the State of Connecticut implemented its participation in the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC)." and "Eligible Registered Nurses (RNs) and Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) with Connecticut as their primary state of residence may apply for conversion to a multistate license." The article carrying that statement is itself dated September 30, 2025. What it describes is conversion of an existing Connecticut license, not a compact route into the state: nothing in the captured sources describes applying from outside Connecticut for a multistate license, and the endorsement pages for both levels never mention the compact at all. Nurse Licensure Compact article.
- Offices in these sources
- Three address blocks are published, and they differ. The section's own contact page gives "410 Capitol Ave., MS# 12 APP", "P.O. Box 340308", "Hartford, CT 06134-0308", "Phone: (860) 509-7603", "Fax: (860) 707-1984" and "email: oplc.dph@ct.gov (Preferred)". The registered-nurse endorsement page gives a differently addressed block for supporting documents — "Connecticut Department of Public Health RN Licensure 410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 APP P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, CT 06134" — with the same telephone number, a different fax, "Fax: (860) 707-1981", and the mailbox dph.nursingteam@ct.gov. The practical-nurse page publishes the same block headed LPN Licensure. The postal code and the fax number differ between the section's page and the nursing pages; both are shown as published. Contact the Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section; RN Licensure by Endorsement.
- Sources last checked
- Aug 30, 2026
Reproduced from the board's own pages and documents quoted below: potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of eligibility or of which pathway applies to any situation.
Lede
This page assembles what Connecticut's own materials say to a nurse already licensed elsewhere: a hundred-and-twenty-day non-renewable temporary permit published at both license levels with different conditions on each, a verification instruction that names the national system and states what to do when the old state is not in it, a compact participation the department dates to October 1, 2025 and describes only as a conversion for nurses already licensed here, two fee sets, and a complete silence about fingerprints anywhere outside the compact route. The fullest single sources are the department's two endorsement pages, neither of which publishes a date. Connecticut's vocabulary is licensure by endorsement for registered nurses, licensure based on an out-of-state license for practical nurses, temporary permit, multistate license (MSL), and primary state of residence. Confirm applicability with the department itself. All amounts are quoted from the sources, not a total calculated for you.
The pathways, as the department describes them
Endorsement for registered nurses. The department states the condition in terms of documents rather than eligibility: "In order to be eligible for a registered nurse license based on a current out-of-state license, an applicant shall arrange for the submission of the following documentation directly from the source:". Before that, the page opens by sending the applicant elsewhere first — "Before applying for licensure, please familiarize yourself with the general licensing policies." RN Licensure by Endorsement.
A route that closes. One class of applicant is redirected out of endorsement entirely. "Nurses holding a current license issued by a state or territory of the United States that does not require successful completion of the NCLEX examination must meet the Connecticut requirements for licensure by examination." and the consequence is stated in the next sentence: "Applicants to whom this applies do not qualify for the temporary permit as outlined below." RN Licensure by Endorsement.
Nurses licensed in Canada. For registered nurses, they "may be licensed by endorsement provided they have successfully completed the Canadian Registered Nurse Examination in English with a score equivalent to Connecticut's current passing standard (at least 400 in each section of the CRNE exam)." with a further condition where the examination was taken in French: those nurses "must also pass the Test of English as a Foreign Language administered by the Educational Testing Service with a score of at least 550 on the paper-based test or 213 on the computer-based test." The practical-nurse page states the same structure for its own examinations, the CPNRE or CNATS. RN Licensure by Endorsement; LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License.
Licensure based on an out-of-state license, for practical nurses. The practical-nurse route asks for more documents than the registered-nurse route does, and names them: "An official transcript submitted directly to this office by the nursing school verifying the award of a diploma, certificate or degree in nursing." and "Completed Work Experience Verification Form submitted directly to this office by the applicant's current or most recent employer;" and a "Completed Verification of Theory and Clinical Instruction Form submitted directly by the Dean or Director of the nursing program". For nurses educated abroad, applicants "are required to arrange for a 'Professional Report' to be submitted directly to this office from the CGFNS International." LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License.
The multistate license, as the department describes it. The department describes conversion, not entry: a "currently licensed registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who wants to convert their single state license to a MSL" may begin the conversion application online, and "You do not need to wait until your renewal period." Eligibility conditions are published as a list, including that the applicant "Have no encumbrance on any state license", "Have a valid social security number", "Not be enrolled in an alternative to discipline program in any state (e.g. HAVEN in Connecticut)." and "Not been found guilty or entered an agreed disposition* of any felony or misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing." On examinations, the department states that "the Canadian CNAT/CRNE and the Puerto Rican nurse licensing examinations do not meet the eligibility requirements for participation in the NLC." Nurse Licensure Compact article.
The published process
Practice while the application is pending. Both levels publish a temporary permit, both a hundred and twenty days, both non-renewable, and the conditions on them are not the same. For registered nurses: "Applicants who hold a current, valid registered nurse license in another U.S. state or territory are eligible for a 120-day, non-renewable temporary permit to practice nursing in Connecticut pending issuance of full licensure." and it turns on the application alone — "Once a completed online application form is received and approved, a temporary permit will be issued in 15 business days." For practical nurses the eligibility is qualified and the trigger is later. Applicants "who hold a current, valid practical nurse license in another U.S. state or territory whose requirements for practicing in such capacity are substantially similar to or higher than those of this state may be eligible for a 120-day, non-renewable temporary permit to practice nursing in Connecticut pending licensure issuance." and the department states the block plainly: "Please note that a temporary permit will not be issued until such time as a transcript and a Verification of Theory and Clinical Instruction Form are received directly from the school of nursing." then "Once complete, a temporary permit will be issued within 15 business days." For registered nurses one class is excluded outright, as quoted in section 01. RN Licensure by Endorsement; LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License.
Verification of the existing license. The department asks for the whole history, not the current license: "Verification of all RN licenses held, current or expired." and states why — "The purpose of the verification is to document license history including any disciplinary action taken." It names the channel — "Most states utilize the National Council of State Boards of Nursing's Nursys System to verify licenses electronically." — and publishes the fallback where that channel does not reach: "If you are licensed in a state that does not participate in Nursys, please send the verification form to the state and request that a written verification be sent to this office." with the cost noted but not stated: "Most jurisdictions charge a fee for this service. Please contact the jurisdiction for fee information." The practical-nurse page publishes the same instruction for practical-nurse licenses, in a passage carrying two typographical artifacts the department prints — a doubled article and a misspelling — reproduced here as published: "Most states utilize the the National Council of State Boards of Nursing's Nursys System to verify licenses electronically. The purpose of the verificaton is to document license history including any disciplinary action taken." RN Licensure by Endorsement; LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License.
Fingerprints and the background check. Nothing is published on this question for the endorsement route at either license level. The words fingerprint, background check and criminal history appear nowhere on the registered-nurse endorsement page, the practical-nurse out-of-state license page, the two licensure index pages, the general licensing policies page, the written verification page, or the section's contact page. The single occurrence in the captured sources belongs to the compact route and is expressly limited to it: "Upon completion of the application, an applicant will receive information on the process of submitting fingerprints or other biometric data for the purpose of obtaining a state and federal criminal history background check required for an MSL." Whether anything of the kind attaches to an ordinary endorsement application is not stated in these sources, and the absence is recorded rather than filled. Nurse Licensure Compact article; RN Licensure by Endorsement.
The three rows above answer the questions an experienced adviser raises first, from the board's own published documents, or record that a question is not answered in them.
Fees, as stated in the sources
All quoted; none totaled.
Registered nurses. The licensure index publishes a three-row table, quoted cell by cell: "Initial Application Fee:", "$180.00"; "Renewal Application Fee:", "$110.00"; "Reinstatement Fee:", "$180.00". The endorsement page states the same initial amount in a sentence: "A completed application and fee in the amount of $180.00. Applications are only being accepted online. Paper applications are not accepted." Registered Nurse Licensure; RN Licensure by Endorsement.
Licensed practical nurses. The same table at different amounts: "Initial Application Fee:", "$150.00"; "Renewal Application Fee:", "$70.00"; "Reinstatement Fee:", "$150.00". The out-of-state license page states the initial amount without the cents: "The application fee is $150." Practical Nurse Licensure; LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License.
Converting to a multistate license. "Please note that there is no fee to convert your Connecticut license to a MSL." Nurse Licensure Compact article.
No amount is published for the temporary permit at either license level in the captured sources.
What the department states about the money once paid. "All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable." and, on what the application fee buys, "The fee for initial licensure covers the cost of eligibility determination and related administrative functions." with the renewal fee "separate and distinct from the application fee." Practitioner Licensure General Policies and Procedures.
What any of it means for a particular application is for the department to determine.
Timelines, as stated in the sources
All quoted; none calculated.
The temporary permit. A hundred and twenty days at both levels, non-renewable, as quoted in section 02.
How long the permit takes to issue. For registered nurses, "a temporary permit will be issued in 15 business days" once a completed online application is received and approved. For practical nurses the same fifteen business days runs from a later point, after the transcript and the Verification of Theory and Clinical Instruction Form arrive: "Once complete, a temporary permit will be issued within 15 business days." RN Licensure by Endorsement; LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License.
Renewal, which arrives sooner than a new licensee expects. "Licenses are renewed annually during the licensee's month of birth." and "Renewal will be required in the first birth month that immediately follows the issuance of licensure." with the consequence stated: "The full renewal fee will be required regardless of the date of initial licensure." Practitioner Licensure General Policies and Procedures.
The compact's start. "Effective Oct. 1, 2025, the State of Connecticut implemented its participation in the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC)." Nurse Licensure Compact article.
Processing. No period for reviewing an endorsement application appears in any captured source. On issuance the department states only that "At such time as an applicant is determined eligible for licensure, the process of licensure issuance will proceed immediately." Practitioner Licensure General Policies and Procedures.
What any of it means for a particular application is for the department to determine.
Source map
| Document | Location | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nurse Licensure | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| RN Licensure by Endorsement | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| Practical Nurse Licensure | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| LPN Licensure Based on an Out-of-State License | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| How do I convert my state nursing license to a multistate license (MSL)? | portal.ct.gov | article dated September 30, 2025; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| Practitioner Licensure General Policies and Procedures | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| Written License Verifications | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| Contact the Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section | portal.ct.gov | no date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026 |
| The online application itself, in the state's eLicense system | behind a portal login | capture pending |
| Verification of Theory and Clinical Instruction Form, and the Work Experience Verification Form | linked from the practical-nurse route | capture pending |
| The Nurse Practice Act and the nursing education regulations | Connecticut General Statutes and Regulations | capture pending |
Change log
Aug 30, 2026 · Page created. Eight first-party captures taken mechanically through this jurisdiction's capture recipe; every source is served by curl with a pinned browser string. Findings: (1) Connecticut has no board of nursing in the licensing role — the Department of Public Health licenses both levels through its Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section — and it publishes two parallel page sets that give the same act two different names, licensure by endorsement for registered nurses and licensure based on an out-of-state license for practical nurses; (2) the temporary permit is a hundred and twenty days and non-renewable at both levels, but its trigger differs: for registered nurses it follows the approved application, and for practical nurses it is withheld until a transcript and a Verification of Theory and Clinical Instruction Form arrive from the school, so the two levels wait on different things for the same fifteen business days; (3) one class of registered-nurse applicant is excluded from both endorsement and the permit, those licensed in a state that does not require the NCLEX; (4) the compact is dated to October 1, 2025 in a departmental article itself dated September 30, 2025, and what that article describes is conversion of an existing Connecticut license — no compact route into the state from outside appears in these sources, and the two endorsement pages never mention the compact at all; (5) fingerprints and criminal-history checks appear nowhere in the endorsement route, and the single occurrence anywhere in the captured sources is expressly attached to the multistate license, which is recorded as an absence with the pages searched rather than assumed from the near-universal practice; (6) the department publishes three address blocks that differ from one another in postal code and fax number, and all are shown as published; (7) the practical-nurse page carries a doubled article and a misspelling in its verification passage, preserved verbatim in the quotation here; (8) the fee for a practical-nurse application is published twice at the same amount in two formats, with cents on the index table and without on the route page; (9) renewal is annual in the licensee's birth month and can fall in the month immediately after issuance at the full fee, which is stated in the general policies rather than on either route page; (10) a capture note worth inheriting — on this site's licensing template the scope `main` encloses a seventeen-item left-margin service menu along with the article, so the recipe scopes to `.content`, except on the knowledge-base article at source 5, where `.content` matches only the site search box and `main` is correct. Automated or AI-assisted decision-making: none located; the terms artificial intelligence, automated decision, and algorithm return nothing across the eight captured sources, and that scope is recorded in `research/ai-disclosure.jsonl`. Capture pending: the online application in the state's eLicense system, the Verification of Theory and Clinical Instruction and Work Experience Verification forms, the Nurse Practice Act and education regulations, and Internet Archive captures. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter, reviewed Aug 30, 2026. Corrections on the record in this log: hello@fieldassembly.net.