Board & Border

Idaho

The applying board stated in the sources
The Idaho Board of Nursing, within the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses. One board licenses practical and registered nurses, and its rules name the route "Qualifications for Licensure by Endorsement." and call it interstate endorsement throughout. The board is in the middle of a change to its license terms: "As of April 1" ", 2026, DOPL has begun transitioning the Board of Nursing to biennial licensure." Board of Nursing; IDAPA 24.34.01.
Compact status in these sources
The board publishes no statement of membership in its own words. Asked its own question — "What is a compact license and how do I apply?" — it answers by pointing away: "Idaho residents can learn more and apply for a Compact License by visiting" the compact commission's website. Its licensure policies acknowledge the compact without stating participation, in a sentence about Canadian-educated applicants: "Issuance of a multi-state license vs. a single-state license is dependent on provisions of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) at the time the license is issued." That is the whole of it. Nothing in the captured sources states that Idaho is a member, when it joined, or what a multistate license permits; the absence is recorded rather than supplied from the commission's roster. Board of Nursing; Licensure Policies.
Offices in these sources
The board publishes a mailbox and a telephone number and directs everything to them: "Please direct any questions via email" HP-Licensing@dopl.idaho.gov "or phone (208) 334-3233". For one adjacent subject it sends the reader elsewhere entirely — questions about certified nursing assistants go to "Health & Welfare-Idaho State Nurse Aide Registry at (800) 748-2480". No street address for the board appears in the captured sources. Board of Nursing.
Sources last checked
Aug 30, 2026

Reproduced from the board's own pages and documents quoted below: potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of eligibility or of which pathway applies to any situation.

LedeWhat this page holds

Lede

This page assembles what Idaho's own materials say to a nurse already licensed elsewhere, and the first thing to know is where they say it: the board publishes no endorsement instructions page and no application form on the web, so the route's conditions are in its administrative rules rather than in prose. What the board's own pages do carry is a fee table, a license-expiry table, and a temporary license priced at twenty-five dollars. The fullest single source is IDAPA 24.34.01, the board's rules, whose provisions carry effective dates by subsection. Idaho's vocabulary is interstate endorsement, temporary licensure, licensure by equivalency, nursing jurisdiction, and eDOPL. Confirm applicability with the board itself. All amounts are quoted from the sources, not a total calculated for you.

01The pathways, as the board describes them

The pathways, as the board describes them

Endorsement, as the rules state it. "An applicant for Idaho licensure by interstate endorsement must:" then four conditions. On education: "Be a graduate of a state approved/accredited practical or registered nursing education program". On examination: "Have taken the same licensing examination as that administered in Idaho and achieved scores established as passing for that examination by the Board." On an alternative to the education condition: "In lieu of the requirements in Section 100.08.a of this rule, have qualifications that are substantially equivalent to Idaho's minimum requirements." And on the license itself: "Hold a current, valid, and unrestricted license from" "another nursing jurisdiction." Each of these subsections carries the effective date (3-28-23). IDAPA 24.34.01.

A second endorsement route for practical nurses. The rules publish "Licensure by Equivalency and Endorsement Licensure." for an applicant whose practical-nurse license rests on registered-nurse coursework: they must have "successfully taken the same licensing examination as that administered in Idaho; and" hold a license elsewhere based on completing nursing and related courses "at an approved school preparing persons for licensure as registered nurses to include a course in personal and vocational relationships of the practical nurse (or equivalent experience)". IDAPA 24.34.01.

Nurses educated abroad who are already licensed somewhere. The rules route them through endorsement rather than a separate track: "Graduates of schools of nursing located outside the United States, its territories or commonwealths who are licensed in a nursing jurisdiction and who meet" the requirements of the foreign-graduate subsection "may be processed as applicants for licensure by endorsement from another state." The board's policies add a narrower case: applicants licensed by a Canadian authority on the strength of an English-taught programme and the Canadian examination "are eligible to license by endorsement in Idaho." The unspaced words in that policy are the document's own. IDAPA 24.34.01; Licensure Policies.

How the board's guidance ranks against its rules. The board prints the distinction itself: "Agency policy statements and guidance documents shall not have the force and effect of law pursuant to section 67-5207A, Idaho Code." Its licensure policies are quoted on this page subject to that. Statutes, Rules and Guidance.

02The published process

The published process

Practice while the application is pending. Idaho publishes a temporary license for endorsement applicants, and its conditions are short: "Temporary Licensure by Interstate Endorsement. A temporary license may be issued to an applicant for interstate endorsement on proof of current licensure in good standing in another nursing jurisdiction, and in compliance with the requirements of Section 100.07 of these rules." It is discretionary in the rule's own wording, and no duration for it appears in the captured sources. The board publishes a second temporary license in the next subsection, for new graduates awaiting examination results, and that one carries limits the endorsement license does not: a new graduate holding it practises only where "Direct supervision is provided by a licensed registered nurse that is physically present and immediately accessible to designate or prescribe a course of action or to give procedural guidance, direction, and periodic evaluation." and is "Precluded from acting as charge nurse." Those limits are stated as applying to "new graduates holding temporary licensure", not to endorsement applicants; the distinction is the rule's own and is preserved here rather than generalised. The temporary license is priced on the board's fee table; see below. IDAPA 24.34.01.

Verification of the existing license. No captured source states how verification of an out-of-state license must reach the board for an endorsement application. The rules require the applicant to hold a current, valid and unrestricted license elsewhere but do not say how that is proved, and the board publishes no verification instruction among its forms. What it does publish is the reverse direction, and a fee note attached to it: record verification costs thirty dollars, and "there is no fee for verification of a license if it is being sent to another Board of Nursing". The absence on the inbound side is recorded, not filled. IDAPA 24.34.01; Board of Nursing.

Fingerprints and the background check. The board folds the fingerprint fee into the application fee rather than charging it separately, and states the arrangement in a footnote to its fee table: the asterisk on each application amount "Denotes that the fingerprint processing fee of $32 is included. Fingerprint results are valid for up to 6 months." That six-month validity is the one figure a relocating nurse most needs, because it bounds how early prints can usefully be given. The rules make completion of the check a condition of the examination temporary license expressly; for the endorsement temporary license they refer to Section 100.07 rather than restating it. Board of Nursing; IDAPA 24.34.01.

The three rows above answer the questions an experienced adviser raises first, from the board's own published documents, or record that a question is not answered in them.

Fees, as stated in the sources

All quoted; none totaled.

How this table is read. The board publishes one table across four license types, with an asterisk against most amounts. Rows are quoted cell by cell as the table sets them, and the asterisk is described rather than reproduced, because it is a footnote marker rather than part of the figure. Board of Nursing.

Endorsement. The row reads "License by Endorsement Application | N/A | $102" and states the same amount again for the registered-nurse column, with the medication-assistant and advanced-practice columns marked not applicable. Each of those amounts carries the asterisk described below. Board of Nursing.

What that asterisk means, in the board's own footnote: it "Denotes that the fingerprint processing fee of $32 is included. Fingerprint results are valid for up to 6 months." So the hundred and two dollars is not the application alone. The board states the composition; this page does not do the subtraction. Board of Nursing.

The temporary license. "Temporary License | N/A | $25 | $25 | $25" — the same amount at practical-nurse, registered-nurse and advanced-practice levels, and no asterisk, so no fingerprint fee is folded into it. Board of Nursing.

Other stated amounts. "License Renewal Application | $35 | $70 | $70 | $70"; "License by Exam Application | N/A | $102" at both nursing levels; "License by Reinstatement Application | N/A | $102" across three levels; and "Record Verification: $30 (there is no fee for verification of a license if it is being sent to another Board of Nursing)". Two lines are priced at nothing or nearly so: "Emeritus Application: No fee." and "Virtual Telehealth Nurse Practitioner – Initial Application: $35". Board of Nursing.

What any of it means for a particular application is for the board to determine.

Timelines, as stated in the sources

All quoted; none calculated.

How long fingerprint results last. "Fingerprint results are valid for up to 6 months." Board of Nursing.

When a license expires, which is a date rather than an anniversary and differs by level: "Practical Nurse (PN) | August 31st (Even Years)" and "Registered Nurse (RN) | August 31st (Odd Years)", with the advanced-practice license on odd years and the medication-assistant certificate "August 31st (Annually)". A nurse licensed shortly before an August 31st therefore renews almost immediately. Board of Nursing.

A change in progress. "As of April 1" ", 2026, DOPL has begun transitioning the Board of Nursing to biennial licensure." The board directs licensees to its own announcement "to determine how your renewal cycle will be impacted". How that transition affects a nurse licensed by endorsement now is not stated in the captured sources. Board of Nursing.

The temporary license. No duration for the endorsement temporary license appears in any captured source. For the examination temporary license the rules state when it may begin rather than when it ends — "beginning thirty (30) days prior to graduation from a nursing education program" — and that it runs "until notification of examination results and completion of criminal background check". IDAPA 24.34.01.

Processing. No period for reviewing an endorsement application appears in any captured source.

What any of it means for a particular application is for the board to determine.

03Source map

Source map

DocumentLocationDates
Board of Nursingdopl.idaho.govno date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026
IDAPA 24.34.01, Rules of the Idaho Board of Nursingadminrules.idaho.govsubsections dated individually, the endorsement provisions (3-28-23); retrieved Aug 30, 2026
Statutes, Rules and Guidancedopl.idaho.govno date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026
Board of Nursing Licensure Policiesdopl.idaho.goveach policy carries its own adoption, revision and review dates; retrieved Aug 30, 2026
Nursing Resources and Formsdopl.idaho.govno date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026
Fingerprint Processing Instructionsdopl.idaho.govno date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026
Foreign Educated Nursesdopl.idaho.govno date published; retrieved Aug 30, 2026
The endorsement application itself, inside eDOPL Online Servicesbehind a portal logincapture pending
Any board statement of compact membership, and any verification instruction for inbound endorsementnot located on the board's own sitecapture pending
Idaho Code Title 54 Chapter 14, the Nursing Practice ActIdaho Statutescapture pending
04Change log

Change log

Aug 30, 2026 · Page created. Seven first-party captures taken mechanically through this jurisdiction's capture recipe; every source is served by curl with a pinned browser string, and the three PDFs extract with pdftotext. Findings: (1) the board publishes no endorsement instructions page and no application form on the web — everything runs through the eDOPL portal behind a login — so the conditions of the route exist in prose nowhere and had to be taken from the board's own administrative rules, which is why IDAPA 24.34.01 is this page's fullest source rather than a background citation; (2) the board publishes no statement of compact membership in its own words, and answers its own question about compact licenses by linking to the commission's site, so the docket row records that shape rather than importing the roster; its licensure policies mention the compact once, obliquely, in a sentence about Canadian-educated applicants; (3) a temporary license is available to endorsement applicants on proof of current good-standing licensure elsewhere, discretionary in the rule's wording, priced at twenty-five dollars, and given no duration anywhere in the captured sources; (4) a second temporary license, for new graduates, carries direct-supervision and charge-nurse limits that the rules attach to new graduates specifically, and those limits are not generalised to endorsement applicants here; (5) the fingerprint fee is folded into the application fee rather than charged beside it, and the board's footnote states both that inclusion and the six-month validity of results, which is the figure that bounds how early prints can usefully be given; (6) no captured source states how verification of an out-of-state license must reach the board — the rules require the license to be held but not how it is proved, and no verification instruction appears among the board's forms — recorded as an absence; (7) licenses expire on a fixed calendar date that alternates by level between even and odd years rather than on an anniversary, so a nurse licensed shortly before August 31st renews almost at once; (8) the board is mid-transition to biennial licensure as of April 1, 2026, and what that means for a nurse licensed by endorsement now is not stated; (9) the board prints its own disclaimer that guidance documents lack the force of law, which is quoted on this page so the licensure policies are read at the weight the board gives them; (10) two extraction artifacts preserved verbatim — the licensure policies PDF has lost the spaces between many words in its headings and some body text, and the rules carry their subsection effective dates inline. Automated or AI-assisted decision-making: none located; the terms artificial intelligence, automated decision, and algorithm return nothing across the seven captured sources, and that scope is recorded in `research/ai-disclosure.jsonl`. Capture pending: the endorsement application inside eDOPL, any board statement of compact membership, any inbound verification instruction, and the Nursing Practice Act at Idaho Code Title 54 Chapter 14. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter, reviewed Aug 30, 2026. Corrections on the record in this log: hello@fieldassembly.net.